2001-02 Vanderbilt Women’s Basketball Honors

Vanderbilt University held its annual Women’s Basketball Banquet Wednesday evening at the Stadium Club and the following players were recognized for their achievements.

Most Valuable Player
Chantelle Anderson

Chantelle Anderson (6-6, Jr., C) helped lead the Commodores to a 30-7 record, an SEC Tournament title, VU’s 15th appearance in the NCAA Tournament, fifth in the Elite Eight, and a #4 final national ranking.

She led the team in scoring with a 20.7 average and was second in rebounding with 6.8 a game. She led the SEC for the second consecutive season in field goal percentage shooting 64.7 percent from the field (295-456), second in the nation.

She became only the second Commodore ever to total 2000 career points and currently totals 2,023. She recorded eight double-doubles this season, including both NCAA Tournament Regional games vs. North Carolina and Tennessee. She has moved into second place on the Vanderbilt All-Time Scoring List (2,023), All-Time Field Goals List (803), and is fifth on the All-Time Blocked Shots List (130). She scored in double figures in all but one game this season and totaled 20 or more points 20 times and at least 30 points three times.

She earned numerous post-season honors including Kodak All-American, Associated Press All-American, SEC Player of the Year, NCAA Midwest Regional Most Outstanding Player, All-SEC and AP All-SEC First Team selection, and SEC All- Tournament Team honors. She was also a finalist for the Wade Trophy, the Naismith Basketball Award and the Honda Award. ESPN The Magazine named her the Best Center in the Nation. She is the first Commodore to win the team MVP award three times.

Past Recipients: 2001 - Chantelle Anderson/Ashley McElhiney; 2000 - Chantelle Anderson, Chavonne Hammond; 1999 - Jennifer Holmes; 1998 -Ashley Smith; 1997 - The 1996-97 team; 1996 - Sheri Sam; 1995 - Sheri Sam; 1994 - Rhonda Blades; 1993 - Heidi Gillingham; 1992 - Shelley Jarrard

Most Improved Player
Jill Corbett

Jill Corbett (5-10, Fr., G) played in 17 games this season averaging 2.4 minutes a game. Although she saw limited playing time, it was her work ethic on the practice court that impressed her teammates and coaches. Her competitive nature was evident as she took her game to another level by the end of the season. Past Recipients: 2001 - Jillian Danker; 2000 - Chavonne Hammond; 1999 - Zuzi Klimesova; 1998 - Lisa Ostrom, Jennifer Holmes; 1997 - Paige Redman; 1996 - Katie Janky; 1995 - Lisa Ostrom; 1994 - Angela Gorsica; 1993 - Rhonda Blades; 1992 - Jade Huntington

Most Outstanding Defensive Player
Ashley McElhiney

Ashley McElhiney (5-5, Jr., PG) was second on the team in steals but more importantly she directed a defense that held opponents to 39.6 percent shooting for the season. Opponents scored 70 points or more just six times, as the Commodores held 32 opponents to lower than their scoring average and 10 teams to its lowest scoring output throughout the season. She maintained her intensity even as she averaged a team-best 35.1 minutes per game, including nine complete games, guarding the opponent’s best shooter. At 5-foot-5 she is the shortest player ever to receive the award and has done so twice. She is only the second guard to receive the award.

Past Recipients: 2001 - Ashley McElhiney; 2000 - Chavonne Hammond; 1999 - Chavonne Hammond; 1998 - Chavonne Hammond; 1997 - Angela Gorsica; 1996 - Na’Sheema Hillmon; 1995 - Na’Sheema Hillmon, Angela Gorsica; 1994 - Donna Harris; 1993 - Shelley Jarrard; 1992 - Heidi Gillingham

The Chloe Stroop Spirit Award
Jenni Benningfield

Jenni Benningfield (6-3, So., F) is this year’s recipient of the Chloe Stroop Spirit Award. For any team to be successful it must have players willing to pay the price for success and to understand their role in the team's fortunes. Whether on or off the court, her unwavering determination and enthusiasm were of constant value. Taking a charge, grabbing a key rebound, hitting a big shot - her enthusiasm and passion to do whatever needed for the team was evident. Her dedication to her teammates makes her a deserving recipient of this award.

The Award is named for Chloe Stroop, a longtime friend of women’s basketball. Stroop, who worked in the Vanderbilt Athletics Department for 25 years, lost her battle with cancer on February 22, 2000 after being diagnosed in December 1995. She and her husband Ernest were very visible in all of the Vanderbilt athletics programs, especially women’s basketball. Ernest continues to work the Player Guest List Table at home games and post-season tournaments. Whenever there was a setback in Chloe’s life, she made sure her family and friends were comfortable rather than think of herself. She affectionately referred to the team as “my girls.”

Past Recipients: 2001 - Ashley McElhiney, Venessa Ferragamo; 2000 - Jackie Munch; 1999 - Zuzi Klimesova; 1998 - Paige Redman, Katie Janky; 1997 - Nettie Respondek; Formerly the Vanderbilt Spirit Award: 1996 - Ginger Jared; 1995 - Kelly Dougherty; 1994 - Angela Gorsica; 1993 - Renee Allen; 1992 - Sarah Mannes

The Bedford Hunter Loyalty Award
Hillary Hager

Hillary Hager (5-11, So., G/F) is the recipient of the Bedford Hunter Loyalty Award named for another longtime supporter of women’s basketball who passed away December 26, 1996.

Hager’s work ethic and dedication was exemplified by her attitude at practice every day. Even though her playing time was down from last season, her attitude and unselfishness remained consistent. She competed every day and her willingness to make her teammates and herself better was much appreciated by her coaches and teammates.

Bedford Hunter assumed the role of unofficial statistician and maintained a detailed set of records and statistics, for the team and individuals, at the start of the Vanderbilt women’s program He insured that seasons past would not be seasons forgotten.

Past Recipients: 2001 - Candice Storey; 2000 - Candice Storey; 1999 - Candice Storey and Katie Janky; 1998 - Candice Storey; 1997 - Katie Janky; 1996 - Mara Cunningham; 1995 - Rhonda Blades; 1994 - Bedford Hunter; 1993 - Misty Lamb; 1992 - Julie Powell

The Commodore Award
Candice Storey

This award was established to recognize a player who singularly provides an element critical to the success of the team. This season, in recognition of her dedication to Vanderbilt and the women’s basketball program, Candice Storey is this year’s recipient. The fact that she returned for a sixth season after suffering an ACL injury last season, showed her unselfishness and dedication to the team. She made her impact in every possible way as the voice of reason, kindness, compassion and understanding for teammates, coaches and staff members. Storey earned her Bachelor of Science degree in May, 2000, and is currently pursuing a Master’s Degree in Human Development Counseling. She is on track to earn that Degree in May, 2002.

Past Recipients: 2001 - Zuzi Klimesova


Vanderbilt Athletic Department
2601 Jess Neely Drive
Nashville, TN 37212
615-322-GOLD (4653)