Vanderbilt junior center Chantelle Anderson has been named one of 20 finalists for the Naismith College Basketball Player of the Year Award. Jackie Bradford, Executive Director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club, announced the twenty collegiate women finalists today in Atlanta.

Anderson, the SEC Preseason Player of the Year, has helped lead Vanderbilt to a 21-5 record so far this season averaging a team-leading 20.3 points a game, second in the SEC. She leads the league in field goal percentage hitting 65.8 percent of her shots (210-319) and averages 6.1 rebounds and 28.8 minutes a game. She has reccorded four double-doubles this season and was named SEC Player of the Week on Dec. 3. She is currently fourth on the VU All-Time Scoring List with 1,786 points . She was named to numerous Pre-Season All-America teams and was recently honored as a finalist for Sports Person of the Year and the Amateur Athletics Award at the O'Charley's Dinner of Champions sponsored by the Nashville Sports Council.

The Naismith Board of Selectors, which includes some the country's leading basketball coaches, journalists and administrators, began the selection process earlier this year and have reduced the number of finalist by balloting to the twenty top female players they felt most deserving of the award.

The winners of the Naismith Awards, the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball, will be honored in Atlanta on Friday, April 5, 2002.

The finalists for the Naismith College Player of the Year Award (listed alphabetically) are as follows:
Chantelle Anderson, Vanderbilt
Alana Beard, Duke
Sue Bird, Connecticut
Swin Cash, Connecticut
LaNeisha Caufield, Oklahoma
Stacey Dales, Oklahoma
Deanna Jackson, UAB
Gwen Jackson, Tennessee
Sheila Lambert, Baylor
Kara Lawson, Tennessee
Kelly Mazzante, Penn State
Brandi McCain, Florida
Nicole Powell, Stanford
Michelle Snow, Tennessee
Diana Taurasi, Connecticut
LaToya Thomas, Mississippi State
Ayana Walker, LA Tech
Angie Welle, Iowa State
Tamika Williams, Connecticut
Shereka Wright, Purdue

The Naismith Awards program, now in its 34th year, honors the outstanding college basketball players in the United States. The awards program was founded by the Atlanta Tipoff Club, an organization dedicated to recognizing the achievements of excellence in basketball for student athletes.


Vanderbilt Athletic Department
2601 Jess Neely Drive
Nashville, TN 37212
615-322-GOLD (4653)