Freije Named Second Team All-SEC 3/12/03

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - Vanderbilt's Matt Freije was named Second Team All-SEC today by a vote of the league's coaches. Freije was a member of the SEC All-Freshman Team two years ago and earned Third Team All-SEC honors after this past season.

Freije, who scored at least 20 points in eight of the final 12 games, finished the regular season as the Commodores' leading scorer with 17.9 points per game and he finished second on the team with 4.3 rebounds per contest. He has led the team in scoring in 20-of-27 games this season and has been the game-high scorer in 14 games. In 10 games vs. Top-25 teams this season, Freije averaged 18.8 points and 5.7 rebounds

The junior from Shawnee Mission, Kan., was named SEC Player of the Week earlier this year after scoring a career-high 31 points and grabbing nine rebounds in a 94-91 upset victory over No. 15 Georgia. He is ranked among the SEC's best in scoring, field-goal percentage, free-throw percentage, three-point percentage and three-point field goals made.

The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) also named Freije to its Division I First Team for District 7. Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, Freije is one of 150 student-athletes who are now eligible for the NABC Division I All-American Team.

In the Vanderbilt record book, Freije is currently ranked 21st in career scoring (1,247), ninth in career three-point field goal attempts (326), 10th in three-pointer made (118) and is only one block away from reaching the school's top-10 with 49 career blocks.

2003 SEC Men's Basketball Awards

First Team All-SEC
Pos. Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
Matt Bonner, Florida F 6-10 240 Sr. Concord, N.H.
Jarvis Hayes, Georgia* G/F 6-7 220 Jr. Atlanta, Ga.
Keith Bogans, Kentucky G 6-5 213 Sr. Alexandria, Va.
Mario Austin, Miss. State F/C 6-9 260 Jr. York, Ala.
Ron Slay, Tennessee F 6-8 240 Sr. Nashville, Tenn.

Second Team All-SEC
Pos. Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
Erwin Dudley, Alabama F 6-8 260 Sr. Uniontown, Ala.
Marquis Daniels, Auburn F 6-6 200 Sr. Orlando, Fla.
Ezra Williams, Georgia G 6-4 235 Sr. Marietta, Ga.
Marquis Estill, Kentucky F/C 6-9 236 Sr. Richmond, Ky.
Ronald Dupree, LSU F 6-7 209 Sr. Biloxi, Miss.
Matt Freije, Vanderbilt F 6-9 230 Jr. Shawnee Mission, Kan.

SEC All-Freshman Team
Kennedy Winston, Alabama
Jonathon Modica, Arkansas
Anthony Roberson, Florida*
Matt Walsh, Florida*
C.J. Watson, Tennessee*

SEC Coach of the Year
Tubby Smith, Kentucky

SEC Player of the Year
Keith Bogans, Kentucky

SEC Freshman of the Year
Anthony Roberson, Florida

*Unanimous Selection



Vanderbilt Athletic Department
2601 Jess Neely Drive
Nashville, TN 37212
615-322-GOLD (4653)