Vanderbilt Lacrosse Has Four Earn All-Conference Honors 5/7/03

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - The Vanderbilt lacrosse team had four of its members named to American Lacrosse Conference (ALC) All-Conference teams. Michelle Allen, Lauren Peck and Tara Schmucker earned First-Team honors, while Jess Roguski was selected for the Second Team.

Junior midfielder Michelle Allen was named to the ALC First Team after leading Vanderbilt this past season with 52 points, 23 assists and 54 ground balls. She also was among the team leaders with 29 goals, 15 caused turnovers, 21 draw controls and 73 shots on goal.

Allen, who started all 15 games, was a model of consistency as she scored at least one goal in every contest and scored three or more goals in seven matches. Allen's 1.53 assists per game led the conference and was 17th in the nation. In the ALC, she also ranked second with 3.47 points per game, third with 3.60 ground balls per match and seventh with 1.93 goals per contest.

Junior attacker Lauren Peck was selected for the First Team after leading the Commodores with 35 goals and finishing second with 38 points. She also led the squad with 78 shots on goal and 11 free-position shots, while finishing among the team leaders with 17 draw controls. In the ALC, Peck ranked second with 2.33 goals per match and seventh with 2.53 points per game.

Senior defender Tara Schmucker (pictured) earned First-Team recognition after finishing among the team leaders with 33 ground balls, 14 caused turnovers and 14 draw controls. Schmucker, who routinely shut down the opposition's top offensive threat, also added 18 points and 14 goals on just 30 shots on goal.

Junior midfielder Jess Roguski was named to the ALC's Second Team after leading the team with 22 draw controls and finishing fourth on the squad with 24 points and 20 goals. She also ended the season among the team leaders with 28 grounds balls, 14 caused turnovers and 47 shots on goal.

Conference champion Ohio State, whose only ALC defeat was a 12-11 loss to Vanderbilt, swept the special awards, taking Coach, Player, Goalie and Rookie of the Year honors.

2003 American Lacrosse Conference Awards

First Team
Michelle Allen, Vanderbilt, Midfield
Lauren Peck, Vanderbilt, Attack
Tara Schmucker, Vanderbilt, Defense

Tracey Bounds, Ohio State, Attack
Erinn Dennis, Johns Hopkins, Midfield
Erin Forquer, Ohio State, Goalie
Lindsay Hart, Ohio University, Midfield
Lacey Hentz, Johns Hopkins, Defense
Courtney Koester, Northwestern, Midfield
Colleen O'Hara, Penn State, Attack
Regina Oliver, Ohio State, Midfield
Becky Oxman, Ohio University, Attack
Emily Rice, Davidson, Defense
Shannon Wilson, Ohio State, Midfield

Second Team
Jess Roguski, Vanderbilt, Midfield
Meghan Burnett, Johns Hopkins, Attack
Steph Curnoles, Penn State, Defense
Liz Frande, Penn State, Defense
Laura Glassanos, Northwestern, Attack
Katie Jeschke, Penn State, Attack
Ashley Koester, Northwestern, Defense
Kimberly Lowe, Ohio State, Defense
Shari Maslin, Penn State, Midfield
Becca McDevitt, Davidson, Midfield
Lindsay Munday, Northwestern, Midfield
Heidi Pearce, Johns Hopkins, Midfield
Loren Seaton, Davidson, Attack
Lee Tortorelli, Penn State, Goalie
Molly Wurdack, Ohio University, Defense

Player of the Year
Regina Oliver, Ohio State

Goalie of the Year
Erin Forquer, Ohio State

Rookie of the Year
KC Carter, Ohio State

Coach of the Year
Sue Stimmel, Ohio State



Vanderbilt Athletic Department
2601 Jess Neely Drive
Nashville, TN 37212
615-322-GOLD (4653)