Skip to Content

Commencement

Home > Commencement Week > Events Associated With Commencement

Events Associated With Commencement

Wednesday, May 11

Black Graduates Recognition Ceremony Practice
Memorial Practice Gym 9:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.
Jeff King 615-343-9039, jeff.s.king@vanderbilt.edu

 

 Thursday, May 12

Economics Department Honors Reception
*open only to graduating Economics Honors students and their families
Calhoun Portico 12 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.
Elizabeth TeSelle 615-322-2460, elizabeth.teselle@vanderbilt.edu

Chemistry Department Graduation Reception 
SC 7330 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Adam List 615-322-4895, adam.k.list@vanderbilt.edu

Peabody Department of Psychology and Human Development Graduation Celebration
Jesup – Hobbs 1:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Crystal Doochin 615-322-8440, crystal.doochin@vanderbilt.edu

A & S History of Art Graduation Celebration
Cohen Hall Atrium, 21st. Ave., 2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Teresa Benedetti 615-322-2831, teresa.p.benedetti@vanderbilt.edu

Law & Business Program Reception (invitation only)
Law School 2:00 p.m.
Donna Pavlick 615-322-0019, donna.pavlick@law.vanderbilt.edu

Special Education Graduation Celebration
One Magnolia Circle 241, 2:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
LaRashia Grafton 615-322-8168, larashia.grafton@vanderbilt.edu

A&S Germanic & Slavic Majors Graduation Party
123 Furman 2:30p – 4:00 p.m.
Rose Marie Dudney 615-322-2611, rose.m.dudney@vanderbilt.edu

Law School Reception
Law School 3:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Donna Pavlick 615-322-0019, donna.pavlick@law.vanderbilt.edu

A&S English Majors Cocktail Party
Courtyard outside Benson Hall 3:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Janis May 615-322-2276, janis.l.may@vanderbilt.edu

A&S History Majors Reception
Benson Hall/Old Central Lawn 3:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Heidi Welch 615-322-2575, heidi.welch@vanderbilt.edu

Blair Senior Recognition Ceremony & Reception
Turner Hall 3:00 p.m.
Pam Schneller 615-343-5614, pam.schneller@vanderbilt.edu

Managerial Studies Program Paletas & Punch
215 Calhoun 3:00 p.m.- 5:00 p.m.
Michelle Olin 615-322-4021, michelle.e.olin@vanderbilt.edu

The Center for Medicine, Health and Society (MHS) Pre-Commencement Awards Reception

300 Calhoun Hall, 3:00 p.m.- 5:00 p.m.
Nadia Rahman 615-343-9643, nadia.rahman@vanderbilt.edu

Owen Awards Reception for degree candidates and their families
Management Hall Lobby 3:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Liz Scowden 615-322-3128, liz.scowden@owen.vanderbilt.edu

Graduate Reception for the Biological Sciences, Biology, Molecular Biology
MRB III 3:00 p.m.- 4:30 p.m.
Alicia Goostree 615-322-4287, Alicia.Goostree@vanderbilt.edu

Peabody College Awards Ceremony and Reception 
Wyatt Center 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Dawn Hale 615-322-8264, Dawn.Hale@vanderbilt.edu

School of Engineering Awards Ceremony for degree candidates and their guests
University Club 4:00 p.m.
Burgess Mitchell 615-343-8061, burgess.mitchell@vanderbilt.edu

MSN and DNP Pinning Ceremony
Wightman Chapel, Scarritt-Bennett Center 4:00 p.m.
Sarah Ramsey 615-343-3334, sarah.ramsey@vanderbilt.edu

Phi Beta Kappa Initiation Ceremony and Reception
SLC Ballroom 4:30 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
David Carlton
615-322-3326, david.carlton@vanderbilt.edu

School of Nursing Reception for Graduates and their Guests
Godchaux Hall Living Room 5:00 p.m.
Sarah Ramsey 615-343-3334, sarah.ramsey@vanderbilt.edu

Peabody Department of Leadership, Policy, and Organizations Graduation Celebration
Wyatt Atrium 5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Tammy Eidson 615-322-0891, tammy.eidson@vanderbilt.edu

Athletics Senior Recognition Service and Reception
Memorial Practice Gym 5:30 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Reception following in Admiral’s Room 6:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Alison Wenzel 615-343-5463, alison.wenzel@vanderbilt.edu

Black Graduates Recognition Ceremony and Reception
SLC Ballroom 7:00 p.m.
Jeff King 615-343-9039, jeff.s.king@vanderbilt.edu

Commencement Reception for Graduating Biomedical Students
3rd Floor Student Lounge of Light Hall 4:30 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Hosted by VMAA and BRET Office - Wil Comstock 343-7251, wil.comstock@vanderbilt.edu

 

Friday, May 13

Blair Commencement Breakfast for Graduates and Families
Ingram Lobby 7:00 a.m.
Pam Schneller 615-343-5614, pam.schneller@vanderbilt.edu

School of Nursing Reception
Branscomb Quad 12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.
Sarah Ramsey 615-343-3334, sarah.ramsey@vanderbilt.edu

Faculty Commencement Lunch
Buttrick Hall Atrium 12:30 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.
Jayne Morris 615-322-4788, jayne.morris@vanderbilt.edu

Peabody Post Baccalaureate Reception
Peabody Esplanade (rain tent) 12:30 p.m.
Dawn Hale 615-322-8264, Dawn.Hale@vanderbilt.edu

Graduate School Reception
Magnolia Circle Lawn 12:45 p.m.
Marian McAlpin
615-322-2639 marian.mcalpin@vanderbilt.edu

Department of Psychology's Post-Baccalaureate and Post-Doctoral Commencement Luncheon
Wilson Hall, Lobby 1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Jennifer Lass 615-322-0070, jennifer.lass@vanderbilt.edu

Earth and Environmental Sciences Reception for Majors, Masters, Ph.D. Graduates and Parents
SC5726 Science & Engineering Bldg. 2:00 p.m.
Teri Pugh 615-322-2976, teri.pugh@vanderbilt.edu

Owen Strawberries & Champagne
Vanderbilt Recreation and Wellness Center Field House following diploma-awarding ceremony
Liz Scowden 615-322-3128, liz.scowden@owen.vanderbilt.edu

Black Cultural Center Post-Commencement Family Cookout
Open House at BCC, 12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.
Jeff King 615-343-9039, jeff.s.king@vanderbilt.edu

ROTC Military Graduation and Commissioning Ceremony
Scarritt-Bennett Wightman Chapel, 3:00 p.m. 
Inge Schmidlin 615-322-2671, inge.m.schmidlin@vanderbilt.edu


Back Home   



Future Commencement Dates

 2017  -  May 10, 11, 12
 2018  -  May 9, 10, 11
 2019  -  May 8, 9, 10
 2020 -  May 6, 7, 8

Sign up for Text Alerts!

Text Alerts

Vanderbilt offers a complimentary early alert system for all Commencement attendees. The system is designed to inform you, via text message, if any of the main ceremonies have been moved or canceled due to weather or any unexpected circumstance.