Américas Award


Américas Award for Children’s and Young Adult Literature

History of the Award

CLASP (Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs) founded the Américas Award in 1993 to encourage and commend authors, illustrators and publishers who produce quality children’s and young adult books that portray Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinos in the United States, and to provide teachers with recommendations for classroom use. CLASP offersup to two annual book awards, together with a commended list of titles. By linking the Americas, the intent is to reach beyond geographic borders, as well as multicultural-international boundaries, focusing instead upon cultural heritages within the hemisphere.

The Américas Award is now co-coordinated by Vanderbilt University Center for Latin American Studies (Claire Gonzalez)  and Tulane Stone Center for Latin American Studies (Denise Woltering).


Books will be judged by the Américas Award Review Committee  for: 1) distinctive literary quality;  2) cultural contextualization; 3) exceptional integration of text, illustration and design; and 4) potential for classroom use.


To nominate a 2012 copyright title, publishers are invited to submit review copies to the committee members by January 18, 2013. There is no entry fee. Americas Award 2013 Annoucement.

2013 Award Winner

The Revolution of Evelyn Serrano by Sonia Manzano. Scholastic Press.

2013 Honorable Mention

Martin de Porres: The Rose in the Desert by Gary Schmidt. Illustrated by David Diaz. Clarion Books.

2013 Commended Titles

In Darkness by Nick Lake. Bloomsbury Press

Drummer Boy of John John by Mark Greenwood. Illustrated by Frane Lessac. Lee and Low.

Aristotle and Dante Explore Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz. Simon and Schuster.

2012 Award Winners

Hurricane Dancers: The First Caribbean Pirate Shipwreck by Margarita Engle. Henry Holt and Company.

Pablo Neruda: Poet of the People by Monica Brown; Illustrated by Julie Paschkis. Henry Holt and Company.

2012 Honorable Mention

Under the Mesquite by Guadalupe Garcia McCall. Lee and Low Books, Inc.

The Queen of Water by Laura Resau and María Virginia Farinango. Delacorte Press.

2012 Commended Titles

Sylvia and Aki by Winifred Conkling. Tricycle Press.

Read the Press Release

Engage with Américas Award Books

Comments Off

Comments are closed at this time.