Skip to Content

American Studies

American Studies

Home > About Us > Faculty and Advisory Board

Faculty and Advisory Board

Core Faculty

  • Ifeoma Nwankwo—Director, Associate Professor of English and American Studies
  • Jim Fraser—Associate Professor of Human and Organizational Development and American Studies
  • Teresa Goddu—Associate Professor of English and American Studies
  • Susan Kevra—Senior Lecturer in French and American Studies
  • Leah Lowe—Associate Professor of Theatre, Directing & Dramaturgy and American Studies
  • Dana Nelson—Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor of English and American Studies
  • Samuel Shaw—Lecturer in American Studies
  • Cecelia Tichi—William R Kenan Jr Professor of English and American Studies


  • Richard Blackett—Andrew Jackson Professor of History
  • Tony Brown—Associate Professor of Sociology
  • Ashley Carse—Assistant Professor, Dept. of Human & Organizational Development
  • C. André Christie-Mizell—Associate Professor of Sociology
  • Dan Cornfield—Professor of Sociology
  • Colin Dayan—Robert Penn Warren Professor in the Humanities
  • Marshall C. Eakin—Professor of History, Faculty Director, Ingram Scholarship Program
  • Vivien Fryd—Professor of History of Art
  • Derek Griffith—Associate Professor of Medicine, Health, and Society
  • Lisa Guenther—Associate Professor of Philosophy
  • Aimi Hamraie—Assistant Professor of Medicine, Health, and Society
  • Sarah Igo—Associate Professor of History
  • Larry Isaac—Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor and Chair of Sociology
  • Jim Lovensheimer—Associate Professor of Musicology; Chair of the Department of Musicology and Ethnomusicology
  • Kelly Oliver—W. Alton Jones Professor of Philosophy
  • Lucius Outlaw—Professor of Philosophy
  • Richard Pitt—Associate Professor of Sociology and Director of Graduate Studies, Sociology
  • Dan Sharfstein—Professor of Law, Professor of History, Chancellor Faculty Fellow, Co-director Social Justice Program
  • Paul Stob—Assistant Professor of Communication Studies and Director of Undergraduate Studies

Affiliated Faculty

  • Dale P. Andrews—Distinguished Professor of Homiletics, Social Justice, and Practical Theology
  • Joe Bandy—Assistant Director of the Center for Teaching and affiliated faculty in the Department of Sociology
  • Jeffrey Gonda—Department of History Visiting Scholar
  • Chalene Helmuth—Senior Lecturer, Affiliated Faculty, Center for Latin American Studies
  • Joni Hersch—Professor of Law and Economics and Co-Director of the Ph.D. Program in Law and Economics
  • Claire King—Assistant Professor of Communication Studies
  • Richard Lloyd—Associate Professor of Sociology
  • Ken MacLeish—Assistant Professor of Medicine, Health, and Society and Anthropology
  • Jonathan Metzl—Frederick B. Rentschler II Professor of Sociology and Medicine, Health, and Society and Director, Center for Medicine, Health, and Society
  • Emily Nacol—Assistant Professor of Political Science
  • Ann Neely—Associate Professor of the Practice, Dept. of Teaching & Learning
  • Sara Safransky—Assistant Professor, Dept. of Human & Organizational Development
  • Laurel C. Schneider—Professor of Religious Studies
  • Hortense Spillers—Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor of English
  • Dan Usner—Holland N. McTyeire Professor of History

Advisory Board