The Victorian Novel, 1851-1867

Exhibitionism to Reform



   Go to Required Reading

 Course Calendar

Week 1 - (Tuesday, Jan 14, 1997):  The Great Exhibition of 1851

"1851 was a year of such excitement that many young Victorians looked back on it with nostalgia for the rest of their lives, and many old Georgians regarded it as the climax of English history" (Asa Briggs).

Visual Materials: Great Exhibition

News: Laura Patterson

Week 2 - (Tuesday, Jan. 21, 1997): Dickens, Bleak House, Parts I-IX

"God send that we all meet in 1851 under the shadow of some huge, newly-invented machine. I mean to exhibit four three-volume novels--all failures--which I look upon as a great proof of industry." (Anthony Trollope)

Dickens Bibliography

News: Kurt Koenigsberger

Week 3 - (Tuesday, Jan. 28, 1997): Dickens, Bleak House, Parts X-XIX

"I have always had an instinctive feeling against the Exhibition, of a faint inexplicable sort."  (Charles Dickens)

Visual Materials: Bleak House
News: Monika Schramm

Week 4 - (Tuesday, Feb. 4, 1997): Thackeray, Henry Esmond

Thackeray Bibliography


Week 5 - (Tuesday, Feb. 11, 1997): Thackeray and the Mid-Victorian Literary World

News: Christopher Lamping

Week 6 - (Tuesday, Feb. 18, 1997): Charlotte Brontë, Villette

Brontë Bibliography

News: Julie Schuetz

Week 7 - (Tuesday, Feb. 25, 1997): Villette and Victorian Sexuality

News: Lara Newborn

Spring Break (March 1-9, 1997)

Week 8 - (Tuesday, Mar. 11, 1997): Gaskell, North and South.  First version of research paper due.

Gaskell Bibliography

News: Kin Cosner

Week 9 - (Tuesday, Mar. 18, 1997): George Eliot, Felix Holt

George Eliot Bibliography

News: Lisa Barnes

Week 10 - (Tuesday, Mar. 25, 1997): George Eliot, Felix Holt

Week 11 - (Tuesday, Apr. 1, 1997): Collins, The Woman in White

 Collins Bibliography

Week 12 - (Tuesday, Apr. 8, 1997): Braddon, Lady Audley's Secret

 Braddon Bibliography

Week 13 - (Tuesday, Apr. 15, 1997): Trollope, The Last Chronicle of Barset, vol. I

 Trollope Bibliography

Week 14 - (Tuesday, Apr. 22, 1997): Trollope, The Last Chronicle of Barset, vol. II

Revised paper due: Tuesday, April 29, 4:00 p.m.