American Economic Association

Celebrating 125 Years of Encouraging Economic Research

Francis A. Walker Medal

The Walker Medal, named after the Association's first president, Francis Amasa Walker, was instituted in 1947 by the American Economic Association and was awarded every five years "to the living American economist who in the judgement of the awarding body has during his career made the greatest contribution to economics." Upon the creation of the Nobel Memorial Prize, the Walker Medal was discontinued.

Walker Medal Awards

©2010 American Economic Association